Council on Assessment

The Council on Assessment (CoA) is a campus committee comprising faculty members from across divisions and colleges. The CoA works with and supports academic departments and programs in assessing student learning to promote excellence in education. The CoA serves as a coordinating body, advising faculty on the design and execution of meaningful assessment projects. It also reviews Assessment Grant proposals requesting funds for assessment studies. The CoA is co-chaired by Linda Adler-Kassner and Lorraine McDonnell. Linda Adler-Kassner is UCSB's Co-Accreditation Liaison Officer (Co-ALO) and Interim Co-Dean of Undergraduate Education in the College of Letters and Science, and Lorraine McDonnell is a professor of Political Science.

Council on Assessment Members

Linda Adler-Kassner, Co-Chair
Division of Undergraduate Education

adler-kassner@ltsc.ucsb.edu
x. 4808

Lorraine McDonnell, Co-Chair
Political Science

mcdonnell@polsci.ucsb.edu
x. 7128

Kelly Bedard
Economics

kelly@econ.ucsb.edu
x. 5571

Glenn Beltz
Mechanical Engineering

beltz@engineering.ucsb.edu
x. 3354

Miroslava Chavez-Garcia
Chicana and Chicano Studies

mchavezgarcia@chicst.ucsb.edu
 

Rolf Christoffersen
Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology

rolf.christoffersen@lifesci.ucsb.edu
x. 3599

Brice Erickson
Classics

berickson@classics.ucsb.edu
x. 4505

Darby Feldwinn
Chemistry

feldwinn@chem.ucsb.edu
x. 2127

Mike Gordon
Chemical Engineering

mjgordon@engineering.ucsb.edu
x. 7346

Mary Hegarty
Psychological and Brain Sciences

mary.hegarty@psych.ucsb.edu
x. 3750

John Latto
College of Creative Studies
Ecology, Evolution and Marine Biology

john.latto@lifesci.ucsb.edu
x. 5399

Karen Myers
Communication

myers@comm.ucsb.edu
x. 3278